Mission

The music education programme of the Ernst Krenek Forum is especially designed for schools and focuses on children and young people between 6 and 18 years. Ernst Krenek’s music serves as an associative source for explaining styles of composition, experiencing musical structures and encouraging participants to develop their own creative ideas.

Thereby a bridging to the HERE and NOW occurs: how can we connect to the life and music of Krenek? Do any points of contact exist? Furthermore, composers, together with the participants, are invited to take a look at Krenek from their own perspective. Art forms such as dance and live-animations are also part of the Ernst Krenek Forum’s education programme to offer a wide spectrum of means of expression to young people. This meets Krenek’s understanding: He viewed himself not only as a composer, but also a writer and librettist, and he even enjoyed painting.

The Ernst Krenek Forum offers workshops, which – depending on the age group – are held for 2-5 hours on 5 consecutive days. The workshop weeks are concluded with a presentation – more of a recap of the creative process than a concert. The education programme aims to spread Krenek’s work to the public on the one hand, and on the other hand to enhance young people’s musical awareness and thus encourage them to discover their own creative potential as inventors.

The Ernst Krenek Forum uses various methodological approaches in the workshops: musical material itself as well as extra-musical themes that played a major role in the life of Krenek, such as homeland, identity, emigration, etc., may serve as a starting point.

Workshops

On the way

Composition workshop from 8 years

Would you like to enjoy a train ride into the mountains or a flight to New York? We pack our suitcases and start on a musical journey to known and unknown countries. Travel utensils and maps are ready, trains, cars, ships and airplanes provide the inspiration for the final project that will be presented at the end of the workshop week.

Krenek is known as a frequent traveller who loved trains and timetables. In 1938, he was forced to leave Austria and set off for a new world. From that time, travel became a part of the composer’s life. His experiences during these travels frequently became a part of his compositions – e.g. in the ‘Santa Fe Timetable’. Much of this serves as the impetus for our workshops.

Organisers:
Veronika Grossberger, music educator
Sophia Goidinger, violin

Duration:
2 lessons each on 5 days

The secret kingdom (Das geheime Königreich)

Workshop from 8 years

‘Das geheime Königreich’ op. 50 is a fairy-tale opera by Ernst Krenek from the year 1927, adapted for children. The story is about a king who becomes tired of his position and withdraws to the woods, where he finds his true kingdom.

After an introduction to Krenek and his musical work, the workshop organisers take various scenes from the opera and work with the pupils thematically, musically and with dance. The power balance between people and king – as the basic subject of the fairy-tale – is discussed and interpreted in class. The pupils create their own music and dance sequences, and this results in a mosaic of various scenes.

Organisers:
Veronika Grossberger, music educator
Katharina Weinhuber, choreography

Duration:
Depending on the age, 1.5 – 2.5 lessons each on 5 days

Future music

Workshop with musical improvisation and live drawing from 9 years

What does the music of tomorrow sound like? What does music sound like on the moon and on a star?

We can find future visions and ideas of a life on another planet in literature, cinema and in music. In this workshop, Josef Dorninger, the inventor of the live drawing and animation program Tagtool, and the music educator Veronika Grossberger work with the creative idea for music and pictures between the moon and stars. The children and young people develop science fiction stories and gather ideas from the work of Ernst Krenek, who at the beginning of the 1970s wrote the science fiction work ‘Flaschenpost vom Paradies’ (Bottle Message from Paradise). They do live drawings while the music group plays hovering sounds from the universe and planar sounds, which convey the sound of eternity. The instruments include a range of objects from daily life to self-made air sounds. At the end of the workshop week, the result is presented in the school.

Organisers:
Veronika Grossberger, music educator
Josef Dorninger, Tagtool

Duration:
2 lessons each on 5 days

The matter with the 12 tones

Composition workshop from 15 years

12 tones are available to us and we can string them together in any sequence we choose. Which sequence do we like best?

In this workshop we experiment with 12-tone melodies, rearrange them over and over again, and develop our own little composition. In doing this, we perform detective work with the music of Ernst Krenek and tracing the 12 tones in his work.

The workshop is intended for instrumental classes, but it can also be used with voices only or with the help of boom-whackers.

Organiser:
Veronika Grossberger, music educator

Duration:
2-3 lessons, one morning

Modular Synthesizer Ensemble

Workshop from 15 years

When Ernst Krenek bought his first synthesiser, he was already 67 years old. His lively interest in the development of new music led to his involvement with a completely new medium.

10 modular synthesisers form the starting point for the participative music project with the aim of presenting electronic music live in the ensemble. The provided modular synthesisers are used for experimenting and composing. Participants work independently and develop sounds, melodies, noises and sequences for a composition.

The project is guided by Gammon, a musician and music educator, who has been working with synthesisers since the 1990s. The Modular Synthesiser Ensemble was presented for the first time as part of Superbooth17 in Berlin.

Organisers:
Gammon, Modular Synthesizer
Veronika Grossberger, music educator

Duration:
4-5 lessons, 1 morning

Contact

Image

Portrait Veronika Grossberger

Mag.a Veronika Grossberger

Music educator (free employee) +43 650 300 55 18
Back to Top

Mission

Das Musikvermittlungsprogramm des Ernst Krenek Forum für Kinder und Jugendliche zwischen 6 und 18 Jahren richtet sich hauptsächlich an Schulen. Die Musik Ernst Kreneks dient als assoziativer Ausgangspunkt, um Kompositionsstile zu erklären, musikalische Bausteine aufzugreifen und die TeilnehmerInnen zu eigenen Ideen zu animieren.

Der Brückenschlag zum Hier und Jetzt ist dabei nicht mehr weit: Wo können wir an Kreneks Musik, an sein Leben anknüpfen? Gibt es Berührungspunkte? Außerdem sind KomponistInnen eingeladen mit den TeilnehmerInnen aus ihrer Perspektive auf Krenek zu schauen. Auch Kunstformen wie Tanz oder Live-Animationen fließen in die Vermittlungsarbeit des Ernst Krenek Forum mit ein, um jungen Menschen eine große Bandbreite an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten zu bieten. Das entspricht ganz Kreneks Auffassung: Er selbst sah sich nicht nur als Komponist, sondern auch als Schriftsteller und Librettist und erfreute sich zudem am Malen.

Das Ernst Krenek Forum bietet in erster Linie Workshops an, die je nach Altersgruppe 2-5 Stunden an 5 aufeinanderfolgenden Tagen stattfinden. Am Ende dieser Workshopwochen steht eine Präsentation – mehr eine Bestandsaufnahme des kreativen Prozesses als eine Aufführung. Ziel der Vermittlungsarbeit ist einerseits das Werk Kreneks in die Öffentlichkeit hinauszutragen, andererseits das musikalische Wahrnehmungsspektrum junger Menschen zu erweitern und ihr kreatives Potenzial als ErfinderInnen für sich zu entdecken.

Das Ernst Krenek Forum arbeitet in den Workshops mit unterschiedlichen methodischen Herangehensweisen: Das musikalische Material kann ebenso als Ausgangspunkt dienen wie außermusikalische Themen, die auch in Kreneks Leben eine große Rolle spielten, wie Heimat, Identität, Emigration etc.

Workshops

Unterwegs

Kompositionsworkshop ab 8 Jahren

Lust auf eine Zugfahrt in die Berge oder einen Flug nach New York? Wir packen die Koffer und begeben uns musikalisch auf Reisen in bekannte und unbekannte Länder. Reiseutensilien und Landkarten sind mit dabei, Züge, Autos, Schiffe und Flugzeuge geben uns Anregungen für das Abschlussprojekt, das am Ende der Workshopwoche präsentiert wird.

Krenek galt als Vielreisender und als Liebhaber von Zügen und Fahrplänen. 1938 war er gezwungen, Österreich zu verlassen und in eine neue Welt aufzubrechen. Seither gehörte das Reisen zum Leben des Komponisten. Er ließ seine Erlebnisse von unterwegs immer wieder in seine Kompositionen – beispielsweise in den „Santa Fe Timetable“ – einfließen. Vieles davon dient uns als Impuls für unseren Workshop.

Leitung:
Veronika Grossberger, Musikvermittlung
Sophia Goidinger, Violine 

Dauer:
jeweils 2 Schulstunden an 5 Tagen

Das geheime Königreich

Workshop ab 8 Jahren

„Das geheime Königreich“ op. 50 ist eine Märchenoper von Ernst Krenek aus dem Jahr 1927, die für Kinder adaptiert wurde. Es geht um einen König, der seine Position satt hat, sich in die Wälder zurückzieht und dort sein wahres Königreich findet.

Nach einer Einführung zu Krenek und seinem musikalischen Schaffen nehmen die Workshopleiterinnen verschiedene Szenen aus der Oper heraus und arbeiten thematisch, musikalisch und tänzerisch mit den SchülerInnen. Das Märchen, das um die Machtverhältnisse zwischen Volk und König kreist, wird in der Klasse thematisiert und interpretiert. Die SchülerInnen entwickeln eigene musikalische und tänzerische Sequenzen aus denen sich ein Mosaik an verschiedenen Szenen ergibt.

Leitung:
Veronika Grossberger, Musikvemittlung
Katharina Weinhuber, Choreografie

Dauer:
altersabhängig jeweils 1,5 bis 2,5 Schulstunden an 5 Tagen

Zukunftsmusik

Workshop mit musikalischer Improvisation und Live-Zeichnung ab 9 Jahren

Wie klingt die Musik von morgen? Wie klingt Musik auf dem Mond und auf einem Stern?

Zukunftsvisionen und Ideen von einem Leben auf einem anderen Planeten finden wir in der Literatur, im Kino, in der Musik. In diesem Workshop beschäftigen sich Josef Dorninger, Erfinder des Live-Zeichen- und Animationsprogramms Tagtool, und die Musikvermittlerin Veronika Großberger mit kreativen Ideen zu Musik und Bildern zwischen Mond und Sternen. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen entwickeln Science-Fiction-Geschichten und suchen sich Anregungen dafür bei Ernst Krenek, der Anfang der 70er Jahre das Science-Fiction-Werk Flaschenpost vom Paradies" schrieb. Sie zeichnen live, während die Musikgruppe mit schwebenden Klängen des Alls und flächigen Sounds, die die Ewigkeit anklingen lassen, spielt. Das Instrumentarium reicht von Alltagsgegenständen bis zu selbstgebastelten Luftklängen. Am Ende der Workshopwoche wird das Ergebnis der Schule präsentiert.

Leitung:
Veronika Großberger, Musikvermittlung
Josef Dorninger, Tagtool

Dauer:
jeweils 2 Schulstunden an 5 Tagen

Die Sache mit den 12 Tönen

Kompositionsworkshop ab 15 Jahren

Wir haben 12 Töne zur Verfügung und können sie beliebig aneinander reihen. Welche Reihenfolge gefällt uns am besten?

In diesem Workshop experimentieren wir mit 12-Tonmelodien, gruppieren sie immer wieder neu und entwickeln so unsere eigenen kleinen Kompositionen. Dabei leisten wir detektivische Arbeit an der Musik von Ernst Krenek und untersuchen seine Werke auf den Spuren der 12 Töne.

Der Workshop richtet sich an Instrumentalklassen, kann aber auch nur mit der Stimme oder mit Hilfe von Boomwhakern durchgeführt werden.

Leitung:
Veronika Grossberger, Musikvermittlung 

Dauer:
2-3 Schulstunden, 1 Vormittag

Modular Synthesizer Ensemble

Workshop ab 15 Jahren

Als Ernst Krenek sich seinen ersten Synthesizer kaufte, war er bereits 67 Jahre alt. Sein reges Interesse an den Entwicklungen in der Neuen Musik brachte ihn dazu, sich noch einmal mit einem ganz neuen Medium auseinander zu setzen.

10 Modular Synthesizer bilden den Ausgangspunkt für das partizipative Musikprojekt mit dem Ziel elektronische Musik im Ensemble live zu präsentieren. Auf den bereitgestellten Modularsynthesizern wird experimentiert und komponiert. Die TeilnehmerInnen arbeiten selbstständig und entwickeln Klänge, Melodien, Geräusche und Sequenzen für eine Komposition.

Das Projekt wird von Gammon, einem Musiker und Musikvermittler, der sich seit den 1990er-Jahren mit Synthesizern beschäftigt, angeleitet. Das Modular Synthesizer Ensemble wurde erstmals im Rahmen der Superbooth17 in Berlin präsentiert.

Leitung:
Gammon, Modular Synthesizer
Veronika Grossberger, Musikvermittlung

Dauer: 
4-5 Schulstunden, 1 Vormittag

Kontakt

Image

Portrait Veronika Grossberger

Mag.a Veronika Grossberger

Musikvermittlerin (Freie Mitarbeiterin) +43 650 300 55 18
Back to Top