Mission

Not only was Ernst Krenek a composer, a versatile artist, a widely read humanist and a visionary; he was also the librettist of his own operas, a writer and an essayist. The mission of the EKI is to preserve his artistic legacy and make it accessible to the general public.

The institute collects, researches, oversees and preserves Krenek’s extensive estate and serves as a competence centre for researchers, event organisers, musicians, composers, writers and all those interested; it also serves as a lender of Krenek exhibits. The related Ernst Krenek Forum at the Minoritenplatz in Krems, with its events and exhibitions, offers a dialogue platform for open, inter-disciplinary and multimedia encounters with the multi-layered and extensive artistic legacy of Ernst Krenek.

History

The Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung was founded in 2004 by Krenek’s widow, Gladys Nordenstrom-Krenek, with the support of the federal government and the State of Lower Austria. The premises of the Ernst Krenek Institute at the University of Krems (Campus Krems) were opened on 12 September 2004 with a gala concert. After the founding of the institute, the majority of the American legacy was transferred from the USA to Krems; at the request of Gladys Krenek, the ownership was transferred to the foundation.

Since its founding, the Ernst Krenek Institute organises workshops and symposia, supports research publications and editions and organises exhibitions in order to make Krenek’s artistic legacy available to the public.

As honorary president, Gladys personally and tirelessly dedicated herself to the work of the foundation and its work; she continued to support large projects personally and financially. For her efforts as founder and for the preservation and dissemination of the cultural legacy of Ernst Krenek, Gladys received the Grand Order of Merit for Services rendered to the Republic of Austria in 2006 and in 2014 from the State of Lower Austria. Since her death in 2016, the foundation has served as the legal successor to Ernst and Gladys Krenek.

In 2017, the household in Palm Springs was liquidated and its extensive collections were brought to Krems; they are currently being recorded and catalogued in order to make this part of the legacy accessible to the public as well.

The Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung is financially supported by the Austrian Federal Chancellery and by the State of Lower Austria.

The Founder Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek

Composer, wife, promoter

Resolute, tenacious, and pragmatic, but also with great artistic sensitivity, Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek (1924–2016), Ernst Krenek’s third wife, promoted her husband’s works for nearly a half a century. At the same time, she kept her own artistic work in the background.

Gladys N. Krenek was born in Minnesota on 23 May 1924 as one of seven children. Her grandparents had immigrated to the USA from Sweden and Germany towards the end of the nineteenth century.

She displayed her resoluteness early on, for already at the age of ten she had taken it into her head to become a singer, and from the age of thirteen she financed her voice lessons with Ruth Leaf Larson by playing trumpet in the jazz dance orchestra “The Pangerl Sisters.”

Her desire to study voice at university met with opposition from her father. Nevertheless, at the age of eighteen, she began her studies at Hamline University in St. Paul, which at that time was an important center for modern music; at its core the head of the music department Ernst Krenek and his artistic relations to Dimitri Mitropoulus and Louis Krassner. In Krenek’s lectures, she discovered her love for composition and shortly thereafter transferred into his composition class.

Gladys liked to relate how she got to know Krenek better: Krenek’s physician had suggested that he get more exercise, and his student turned out to be the perfect partner. She taught him how to play badminton, ride a bicycle, swim, and even drive a car.

In 1947 Gladys earned her Master of Arts degree. And when Ernst Krenek moved to California, Gladys went with him. They married in August 1950.

In 1966 they moved into their own house in Palm Springs. Gladys not only took care of the household chores, but, as an elementary school teacher, also provided for a secure income. In addition, she took as much weight off her husband’s shoulders in all areas to allow him to concentrate on his artistic work. Regularly she translated libretti, song texts, and program notes for him, and even assisted with the technical equipment in his experiments with electronic music.

Standing in the shadow of her husband, it is often overlooked that Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek was herself a composer.
Only when she gave up her work as a teacher did she again find time for her own creative activities. The number of her works therefore remained small, yet received international recognition: her composition Rondo for flute and piano was premiered in 1956 at the Darmstadt Vacation Courses. In 1966 she composed, as a commission from the International Society for Contemporary Music, the El Greco Fantasy, which was premiered in Mannheim by the Rhenish Chamber Orchestra Cologne under the direction of Thomas Badner. Most recently, she worked on a chamber opera (The Neighbors) on a libretto by Ernst Krenek.

Since her death in 2016, the Ernst Krenek Institute has become the repository of her legacy.

Catalogue of works

In honor of Gladys’s ninetieth birthday, Marie-Therese Rudolph dedicated a portrait film to the composer, which provides insights into her life as a composer and also as Ernst Krenek’s wife.

Ernst-Krenek-Studies

Since 2005 the Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung is publisher of the "Ernst Krenek Studies". The series is part of the Institute's funding for current research on Krenek. To date, 7 volumes have been published on a variety of topics, including conference transcripts and dissertations. The series appears on the Edition Argus.

Volume 1
Jürg Stenzl (Hg.): Ernst Krenek, Oskar Kokoschka und die Geschichte von Orpheus und Eurydike (2005)

 

Volume 2
Claudia Maurer Zenck (Hg.): „Der zauberhafte, aber schwierige Beruf des Opernschreibens“. Das Musiktheater Ernst Kreneks (2006)

 

Volume 3
Matthias Schmidt (Hg.): Echoes from Austria. Musik als Heimat. Ernst Krenek und das österreichische Volkslied im 20. Jahrhundert (2007)

 

Volume 4
Christoph Taggatz: Gesang des Greises. Ernst Krenek und die historische Notwendigkeit des Serialismus (2008)

 

Volume 5
Claudia Maurer Zenck (Hg.): Igor Strawinsky und Ernst Kreneks Spätwerke (2014)

 

Volume 6
Philipp Weber: Zwischen Avantgarde und Tradition. Ernst Kreneks neoklassizistische Werke (2015)

 

Volume 7
Gernot Gruber, Claudia Maurer Zenck und Matthias Schmidt (Hg.): Ernst Krenek – Nicht nur Komponist (2018)

 

Volume 8
Matthias Henke (Hg.): Zeitgenossenschaft! Ernst Krenek und Kurt Weill im Netz der Moderne (2019)

Contact

Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung
Campus Krems, Block K
Dr. Karl Dorrek Straße 30
3500 Krems, Austria

Tel. (+43)-(0)2732 - 71 570
Fax. (+43)-(0)2732 – 71 570 - 20
E-Mail: office@krenek.com

Travel

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday 10 am – 4 pm
Friday 10 am – 12:30 pm

Please register by telephone in advance.

Team

Image

Portrait Petra Hinterholzer

Mag.a Petra Hinterholzer-Leinhofer

General Secretary / Manager +43 2732 715 70-14

Image

Portrait Martina Proell

Mag.a (FH) Martina Pröll

Assistant to the General Secretary +43 2732 715 70-11

Image

Portrait Alethea Neubauer

Mag.a Alethea Dawn Neubauer

Communications +43 2732 715 70-13

Image

Portrait Clemens Zoidl

Mag. Clemens Zoidl

Archive +43 2732 715 70-12

Image

Portrait Hannah Kvarda

Mag.a Hannah Kvarda

Archive +43 2732 715 70-10

Image

Portrait Veronika Grossberger

Mag.a Veronika Grossberger

Music educator (free employee) +43 650 300 55 18

Board

Prof. Ernst Kovacic, Chairman of the Board
Mag. Gabriele Ecker, Deputy Chairwoman
Dr. Christa Homan
Dkfm. Dr. Claus Raidl
Dipl.Ing. DDr. Manfred Reichl

Back to Top

Mission

Ernst Krenek war nicht nur Komponist, überaus vielseitiger Künstler, umfassend gebildeter Humanist und Visionär sondern auch Librettist seiner eigenen Opern, Musikschriftsteller und Essayist. Das Ernst Krenek Institut hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, sein Werk und sein künstlerisches Erbe zu bewahren und einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Das Institut sichtet, erforscht, betreut und bewahrt Kreneks umfangreichen Nachlass und fungiert als Anlaufstelle für Wissenschaft, VeranstalterInnen, MusikerInnen, KomponistInnen, SchriftstellerInnen und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit, sowie als Leihgeber für Krenek-Exponate. Das zugehörige Ernst Krenek Forum am Minoritenplatz in Krems bietet mit seinen Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen eine Dialogplattform für eine offene, interdisziplinäre und multimediale Begegnung mit dem vielschichtigen und umfangreichen künstlerischen Erbe von Ernst Krenek.

Geschichte

Die Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung wurde 2004 von Kreneks Witwe, Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek, mit Unterstützung des Bundes und des Landes Niederösterreichs gegründet. Die Räumlichkeiten des Ernst Krenek Institut an der Donau-Universität Krems (Campus Krems) wurden am 12. September 2004 mit einem Festkonzert eröffnet. Mit der Gründung wurde ein Großteil des amerikanischen Nachlasses Ernst Kreneks von den USA nach Krems übersiedelt und auf Wunsch von Gladys Krenek der Stiftung als Eigentum übertragen.

Seit seiner Gründung veranstaltet das Ernst Krenek Institut Workshops und Symposien, unterstützt Forschungspublikationen und Werkeditionen und gestaltet Ausstellungen, um Kreneks künstlerisches Erbe der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Unermüdlich und mit großem persönlichem Engagement brachte sich Gladys als Ehrenpräsidentin der Stiftung in die Stiftungsarbeit ein und trug immer wieder größere Projekte persönlich und finanziell mit. Für ihre Leistungen als Stifterin und im Bewahren und Verbreiten des kulturellen Erbe Kreneks wurden ihr 2006 das große Ehrenzeichen für Verdienste um die Republik Österreich und 2014 für die Verdienste um das Land Niederösterreich verliehen. Seit ihrem Tod 2016 fungiert die Stiftung als Rechtsnachfolger von Ernst und Gladys Krenek.

2017 wurden mit der Auflösung des Haushaltes in Palm Springs umfangreiche Nachlassbestände nach Krems übersiedelt, die derzeit erfasst und katalogisiert werden, um auch diese Teile des Nachlasses der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Die Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung wird mit finanziellen Mitteln des Bundeskanzleramt Österreich und des Landes Niederösterreich unterstützt.

Die Stifterin Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek

Komponistin, Ehefrau, Promoterin

Zielstrebig, hartnäckig und pragmatisch, aber auch mit großer künstlerischer Sensibilität hat sich Ernst Kreneks dritte Ehefrau, Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek (1924-2016), fast ein halbes Jahrhundert für das Werk ihres Mannes eingesetzt. Ihre eigene künstlerische Arbeit stellte sie in den Hintergrund.

Gladys N. Krenek wurde am 23. Mai 1924 als eines von sieben Kindern in Minnesota (USA) geboren. Ihre Großeltern waren gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts aus Schweden und Deutschland in die USA eingewandert.

Schon sehr früh zeigte sich ihre Zielstrebigkeit, denn bereits als Zehnjährige hatte sie sich in den Kopf gesetzt, Sängerin zu werden und finanzierte sich seit ihrem 13. Lebensjahr als Trompeterin im Jazz-Dance-Orchestra „The Pangerl Sisters“ Gesangsstunden bei Ruth Leaf Larson.

Ihr Wunsch, Gesang an der Universität zu studieren, stieß bei ihrem Vater auf Widerstand. Dennoch begann sie mit achtzehn Jahren ihr Studium an der Hamline University in St. Paul, zu jener Zeit mit Persönlichkeiten wie Dimitri Mitropolus oder Ernst Krenek ein wichtiges Zentrum für Neue Musik. In den Vorlesungen bei Krenek entdeckte sie ihre Liebe zur Komposition und wechselte wenig später in seine Kompositionsklasse.

Gerne erzählte Gladys, wie sie Ernst Krenek näher kennengelernt hatte: Kreneks Arzt hatte ihm nahegelegt mehr Bewegung zu machen und da erwies sich seine Studentin als optimale Partnerin. Sie brachte ihm Radfahren, Schwimmen, Federball und sogar das Autofahren bei.

1947 beendete Gladys ihren Master of Arts und als Ernst Krenek seinen Lebensmittelpunkt nach Kalifornien verlagerte, ging Gladys mit. Sie heirateten im August 1950.
1966 übersiedelten sie in ihr eigenes Haus in Palm Springs. Gladys kümmerte sich nicht nur um den Haushalt, sondern sorgte als Volksschullehrerin für ein sicheres Einkommen und hielt ihrem Mann für seine künstlerische Arbeit in allen Bereichen den Rücken frei. Für ihn übersetzte sie Libretti, Liedtexte und Programmeinführungen und assistierte sogar mit dem technischen Equipment bei seinen Experimenten mit elektronischer Musik.

 

Dass Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek selbst Komponistin war, wird im Schatten ihres Mannes oft übersehen. Erst als sie ihre Arbeit als Pädagogin niederlegte, fand sie wieder mehr Zeit für ihr eigenes kreatives Schaffen.
Ihr Werk blieb daher vom Umfang überschaubar, erhielt aber internationale Anerkennung: Ihre Komposition „Rondo für Flöte und Klavier“ wurde 1956 bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen aufgeführt. 1966 komponierte sie im Auftrag der IGNM (Internationale Gesellschaft für Neue Musik) die „El Greco Fantasy“ die in Mannheim vom Rheinischen Kammerorchester Köln unter der Leitung von Thomas Baldner uraufgeführt wurde. Zuletzt arbeitete sie an einer Kammeroper („The Neighbors“) zu einem Libretto von Ernst Krenek.
Das Ernst Krenek Institut bewahrt seit ihrem Tod im Jahr 2016 auch ihren Nachlass auf.

Zum Werkverzeichnis

Zum 90. Geburtstag widmete Marie-Therese Rudolph der Komponistin einen Portrait-Film, der Einblicke in ihr Leben als Komponistin, aber auch als Frau von Ernst Krenek gibt.

Ernst-Krenek-Studien

Seit 2005 ist die Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung Herausgeberin der „Ernst-Krenek-Studien“. Die Reihe ist Teil der Wissenschaftsförderung des Instituts zur aktuellen Krenek-Forschung. Bisher sind 7 Bände zu unterschiedlichen Themenschwerpunkten erschienen, darunter auch Tagungsbände und Dissertationen. Die Reihe erscheint bei der Edition Argus.

Band 1
Jürg Stenzl (Hg.): Ernst Krenek, Oskar Kokoschka und die Geschichte von Orpheus und Eurydike (2005)

Band 2
Claudia Maurer Zenck (Hg.): „Der zauberhafte, aber schwierige Beruf des Opernschreibens“. Das Musiktheater Ernst Kreneks (2006)

Band 3
Matthias Schmidt (Hg.): Echoes from Austria. Musik als Heimat. Ernst Krenek und das österreichische Volkslied im 20. Jahrhundert (2007)

Band 4
Christoph Taggatz: Gesang des Greises. Ernst Krenek und die historische Notwendigkeit des Serialismus (2008)

Band 5
Claudia Maurer Zenck (Hg.): Igor Strawinsky und Ernst Kreneks Spätwerke (2014)

Band 6
Philipp Weber: Zwischen Avantgarde und Tradition. Ernst Kreneks neoklassizistische Werke (2015)

Band 7
Gernot Gruber, Claudia Maurer Zenck und Matthias Schmidt (Hg.): Ernst Krenek – Nicht nur Komponist (2018)

Band 8
Matthias Henke (Hg.): Zeitgenossenschaft! Ernst Krenek und Kurt Weill im Netz der Moderne (2019)

Kontakt

Ernst Krenek Institut Privatstiftung
Campus Krems, Trakt K
Dr. Karl Dorrek Straße 30
3500 Krems, Austria

Tel. (+43)-(0)2732 - 71 570
Fax. (+43)-(0)2732 – 71 570 - 20
E-Mail: office@krenek.com

Anfahrt

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Donnerstag 10:00 – 16.00 Uhr
Freitag 10.00 – 12.30 Uhr

Telefonische Anmeldung wird erbeten.

 

Team

Image

Portrait Petra Hinterholzer

Mag.a Petra Hinterholzer-Leinhofer

Generalsekretärin / Geschäftsführerin +43 2732 715 70-14

Image

Portrait Martina Proell

Mag.a (FH) Martina Pröll

Assistentin der Generalsekretärin +43 2732 715 70-11

Image

Portrait Alethea Neubauer

Mag.a Alethea Dawn Neubauer

Kommunikation +43 2732 715 70-13

Image

Portrait Clemens Zoidl

Mag. Clemens Zoidl

Archiv +43 2732 715 70-12

Image

Portrait Hannah Kvarda

Mag.a Hannah Kvarda

Archiv +43 2732 715 70-10

Image

Portrait Veronika Grossberger

Mag.a Veronika Grossberger

Musikvermittlerin (Freie Mitarbeiterin) +43 650 300 55 18

Vorstand

Prof. Ernst Kovacic, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Mag. Gabriele Ecker, stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Dr. Christa Homan
Dkfm. Dr. Claus Raidl
Dipl.Ing. DDr. Manfred Reichl

Back to Top