Concert on occasion of the 100th birthday of Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek


Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek (1924-2016) was a teacher, composer and for over 40 years the wife and companion of Ernst Krenek, whom she had met as his student at Hamline University in St. Paul (Minnesota). After their marriage in August 1950, she not only provided a stable household income and supported her husband with organizational tasks but was also a valuable associate to him in an artistic capacity.

Her own body of works remained limited in scope, but received international recognition: for example, her composition "Rondo for Flute and Piano" was performed at the Darmstadt Summer Courses in 1956, and she composed the "El Greco Phantasie" in 1966 on commission for the International Society for New Music. Her compositional development was based on the principles of the twelve-tone technique and developed from there into a very free tonal language, which is often characterized by contrasting tonal colors and dramatic gestures.

Her tireless commitment to her husband's work led to the founding of the Ernst-Krenek-Institute, from which the Ernst-Krenek-Institute-Private-Foundation in Krems emerged in 2004, with the aim of preserving Ernst Krenek's artistic legacy and making it accessible to the public. Since her death in 2016, the archive also holds her estate.

Celebrate the 100th birthday of the founder Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek and the 20th anniversary of the Ernst-Krenek-Institute-Private-Foundation in Krems with us.

on Thursday, May 23, 2024
at 6:30 p.m.

Salon Krenek
Minoritenplatz 4
3500 Krems/Stein


Welcoming speeches
Gabriele Ecker
Deputy Chairwoman of the Board of the Ernst-Krenek-Institute-Private-Foundation

Doris Denk
Head of Education, Culture and Tourism of the City of Krems

Clemens Zoidl
Scholarly and Artistic Head of the Ernst-Krenek-Institute-Private-Foundation

Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek: Trio for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (1978)
Kaija Saariaho: „Tocar“ for Violin and Piano (2010)
Victor Urbancic: Fantasie-Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, op. 4, 1st & 2nd Movement (1924)
Gladys Nordenstrom Krenek: „Theme and Variations“ for Piano (1945)
Friedrich Cerha: "Rhapsodie" for Clarinet solo (2012)
Ernst Krenek: Trio for Violin, Clarinet and Piano, op. 108 (1946)

Ernst Kovacic, violin
Stefan Neubauer, Clarinet
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano

Admission is free. 
Please reserve your seat by e-mail via 
(limited seats!)

Back to Top