String Quartet No. 4, op. 24

Ernst Krenek Edition, Volume 1

Krenek’s Fourth String Quartet, op. 24 was written at a turning point in Krenek’s life and work. Started in Breitenstein am Semmering and in Vienna, completed in Switzerland, it illustrates the rapid transition of his self-perception as a composer, from radical progressivity to the consideration of the entertainment and social usefulness of modern music, from free-tonal expressionism to neoclassicism within seven movements. Various breaks in Krenek’s biography led to the work being forgotten, and despite of various efforts, it did not experience public dissemination until the publication of this edition.

Editor of the volume: Clemens Zoidl
Krems, 2022


Back to Top